

Denco Area 9-1-1 District

1075 Princeton Street • Lewisville, TX 75067

Phone: 972-221-0911 • Fax: 972-420-0709 • DENCO.ORG

MINUTES

Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers Meeting November 11, 2021

The Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers convened into regular session at 8:30 a.m., Thursday, November 11, 2021 at the Denco Area 9-1-1 District Annex, 1076 Princeton Street, Lewisville, Texas.

Board Members Present:

Bill Lawrence, Board Chair Sue Tejml, Board Vice Chair Chief Terry McGrath, Board Secretary Jim Carter

Staff Present:

Greg Ballentine
Carla Flowers
Melinda Camp
Vanessa Green-Montgomery
Jessica Garcia
Jacob Kiehl

Leddie Taylor, Outside Counsel

Board Members Not Present:

Jason Cole George Karatzis, Advisory

Visitors Present:

Mark Payne, Angela Sherrod

1. Call meeting to order.

Chairman Lawrence called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m. Mark Payne led participants in an invocation and Chairman Lawrence led the pledge of allegiance to the American and Texas flags.

2. Open Visitors Forum: At this time, any person with business not scheduled may speak to the board. No formal action may be taken.

No visitors addressed the board.

Board member Jim Carter presented the topic of the effects on board structure following the Texas statute due to recent census results. He feels the new structure does not represent the district

interests equally and he plans to individually move forward to modify the new structure during the next legislative session. Chairman Lawrence advised no action could be taken at this meeting but requests the item be placed on the agenda for the next board of managers meeting.

3. 2021 Special Districts Technology Innovation Award

Greg Ballentine introduced GIS staff, Vanessa Green-Montgomery, Jessica Garcia and Jacob Kiehl and presented details of the award to the board.

Board members expressed their congratulations and appreciation to this group.

4. Recognize Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers Years of Service

- a. Jason Cole was not in attendance. This item was deferred to the next board meeting.
 - b. Terry McGrath was congratulated for his 10 years of service to the Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers. A special presentation was made by Chairman Lawrence.
- c. Chairman Lawrence congratulated for his 15 years of service to the Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers. A special presentation was made by Vice Chair Tejml.

5. Elect fiscal year 2022 officers for the Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers

Jim Carter made a motion to re-instate the current slate of officers for fiscal year 2022 for the Denco Area 9-1-1 District Board of Managers. Asst. Chief McGrath seconded the motion. The motion passed, four in favor, one absent.

6. Consent Agenda

- a. Consider approval of the September 9, 2021 regular meeting minutes.
- b. Consider acceptance of the September 2021 financial report.
- c. Consider acceptance of the fourth quarter, fiscal year 2021 report of investment transactions for the Denco Area 9-1-1 District in accordance with its investment policy.

Vice-Chair Tejml moved to approve the consent agenda. Asst. Chief McGrath seconded the motion. The motion passed, four in favor, one absent.

7. Consider acceptance of the October 2021 financial report.

Carla Flowers presented report.

Jim Carter moved to accept the October 2021 financial report. Vice Chair Tejml seconded the motion. The motion passed, four in favor, one absent.

8. Executive Director's Report – Information pertaining to Texas 9-1-1 Alliance activities, legislative, regulatory, legal, administrative and operational matter.

Greg Ballentine presented the executive director's report.

- 9. Adjourn to executive session pursuant to Texas Government Code:
 - a. Section 551.074 (Personnel matters) and Texas Government Code Section 551.089 (Security Audits):

Vice Chair Tejml moved to adjourn to executive session. Asst. Chief McGrath seconded the motion. The motion passed, four in favor, one absent. Chairman Lawrence adjourned to executive session at 9:13 a.m.

10. Reconvene into regular session: Consider action as a result of executive session

Regular session reconvened at 10:03 a.m.

No action was taken.

11. Adjourn

Vice Chair Tejml moved to adjourn the meeting. Asst. Chief McGrath seconded the motion. Chairman Lawrence adjourned the meeting at 10:03 a.m.

Assistant Whief Terry McGrath

Secretary, Board of Managers

Bill Lawrence

Chairman, Board of Managers